Quintessential Copenhagen

Over the last several days, I’ve observed several “ordinary” Copenhagen moments which would be extraordinary to residents of any other city; such as a child playing nonchalantly with his Gameboy while a parent bikes him to daycare. Or a pizza delivery man loading his cargo into a Christiania bike (more on these later).

While these everyday occurrences hardly merit an individual post, they provide a window into life in Copenhagen. As a result, I thought I would start a segment called “Quintessential Copenhagen”. I’ll only post when I’ve seen something which I think would be unique to anyone who has never been to Copenhagen. The post will only contain a picture or two as well as a brief explanation of the scene.

Today’s pictures are, well, quintessentially Copenhagen; strollers (prams) lined up outside a café. While you may be marginally impressed that Danes leave their strollers outside, you may be a bit more suprised to find that they leave their children in them! Rain, snow, sleet or hail, you’ll find the little ones outside, bundled up, sleeping soundly (at least in my observations). Last night, I almost killed myself falling over a stroller in the dark courtyard of my apartment (-2 °C) as I headed down to collect my laundry. Thankfully, no harm, no foul and the child slept peacefully on.

Strollers (interspersed with bicycles) outside a cafe

Abandoned!

About Canadianindenmark

A Canadian expat working in the biotechnology industry in Copenhagen, Denmark
This entry was posted in Quintessential Copenhagen. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quintessential Copenhagen

  1. Bec says:

    Wow. If I left one of my kids alone while I went to eat or shop, I wouldn’t have any kids! Their style is definitely more convenient and obviously they’re not worried about kidnapping.

  2. ruth says:

    that stroller sitting all alone is crazy….

  3. Elisabeth says:

    If only…wish things worked that way over here, but think it’s absolutely wonderful that Scandinavian countries are that safe!

Leave a Reply

